The World We Live In

dark flowers

The thought of one day having a child makes me excited. I want to have a Rory-Lorelei relationship with my child, whether it is my son and/or daughter, where we are best friends. I want my child to know they can come to me with anything and I will accept and listen to what they have to say. Today, this thought has changed.

I was leaving my first class and walking to my next and I see this woman on the ground sobbing into her phone. Being the person I am, I stopped to help. She looks at me and says, “my twelve year daughter has been raped,” and proceeded to sob. After walking her to her car and reassuring her that this is absolutely not her fault and that her being supportive and caring for her daughter makes her the best mom. I stopped. I was just taken back for a second because for some reason it is not what I expected he to say. This is the world we live in and it is not the world I want to have a family in.

As a 21 year old, my priority will be school until I graduate, but I cannot prevent myself from thinking about the future. Knowing this woman was sitting in her class when she got a call from her child’s school about her daughter frightens me. Just before I left my fist class, my teacher was talking about a shooting where two woman and a child were injured in their own home. Who would want to bring a family into a world where violent crimes and rape happen so casually?

As a parent, you can only do so much protecting of your children. You can teach them that no means no and teach them to not talk to strangers, but what if the perpetrator is not a stranger? What no does not matter to them? What if it was someone you both know and who is also in the house? What are parents supposed to do: lock their kids in a room until they are old enough and strong enough to get out of these situations? These things can happen anywhere and it is petrifying. I do not want to get the call this woman got. I do not want to drop what I am doing because my child is at school with the police because they were attacked. I do not want to bring a child into this world knowing that the chances of them being a victim are incredibly high.

I know this world is not perfect. I know there are good people who take care of others, but there are also people who intentionally harm others physically, mentally and emotionally. This young girl is twelve years old. She is aware of the malice acts of this world, but she did not know that the malice behavior was so close to her. Now, she will live the rest of he life with this pain of being stripped off her innocence and being introduced to cruelty so early in her life.

Author: alannalevesque

My name is Alanna Levesque. I am currently 21 and working on becoming a teacher. I have a lot to say about things and writing is the best way to convey messages without coming off too strong. If I teach you anything, then I have succeeded.

Leave a Reply

